Scat!

I love mysteries and I love Young Adult (YA) literature, so it was a pretty good bet that I was going to like Carl Hiaasen’s newest YA book, Scat. And like it, I did.

 

I love the cover art.

I love the cover art too.

 

 

Scat is the third YA novel Hiaasen has written. It revolves around an environmental issue in Florida, teems with kooky characters and sets a quick pace – all hallmarks of Hiaasen’s writing in general. Admittedly, I have only read one of his adult mysteries. (Double Whammy – it was very fun and I learned more than I ever wanted about professional bass fishing.) I don’t know if I will read any more of his adult titles, but I will definitely make time for the two YA titles that preceded Scat ­- Hoot and Flush (aren’t the titles great?!).

 

Through his teenage characters, Hiaasen captures the tone and energy of adolescence with incredible realism. Scat has some very funny scenes that include pencil eating, stuffed animals and singing substitute teachers – although not all at once. It also incorporates some weighty contemporary issues as well:  the war in Iraq, the disappearance of wild habitats and the protection of endangered species. For me, it is the addition of these timely issues that puts Scat into the “really good” category of YA. Hiaasen obviously takes young adults seriously and also believes in their ability to change the world. I am glad he has added his voice to this dynamic genre.

Published in: on March 31, 2009 at 1:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookwitches.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/scat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

